I Liked That?!? How Watching Movies with Your Kids Changes You

Sarah K. Stephens

Popcorn

This weekend, my family and I sat down to watch a film I remember loving when I first saw it in my late teens: You’ve Got Mail starring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks circa 1998. We have three children, all in their early to mid-teens, and were searching for an upbeat family movie that everyone could enjoy.

I settled into the couch with hubby and kids expecting what I remembered from my youth: A lively romantic comedy with pithy conversation and beautiful shots of NYC life. What I saw, now that my mind is one of a mother (i.e., with a ticker tape running through my brain trying to determine if I’m raising my children to be good citizens of the world), was a very different movie. One that I wasn’t sure I was OK having my kids watch, when it came right down to it.

First off, just to…

View original post 617 more words

Leave a Reply

